top of page
Search
  • gandrade0830

Raab Mentors Come to Class

Today is Monday, November 9, 2020. It is Week 5 of the fall quarter and for today's zoom meeting with the Raab Fellows, our mentors came to see the progress we've made with our projects. We went into breakout groups where I was able to talk with Professor Williams and her other mentee, Vivian. I was able to show them how the progress I've made with my website thus far in the quarter. They gave me great feedback, which helped me better understand some important aspects regarding my website. Professor Williams sent me an article that further helps me clarify what a zine actually is. There were a lot of really great ones, which I am hoping to use as inspiration for my own. Vivian also has her own website, which I really love! The grandeur and simplicity of hers is what really helped me get my foot through the door when beginning my own website. I have linked hers down below for anyone who is interested! For her project and website, Vivian will include annotated bibliographies. If I'm being honest, this was my first time hearing about annotated bibliographies, but the beauty of research and its process is getting to absorb in all of this new information and use it to better my own project. Vivian was able to give me an idea and help me out in terms of what information I should include when creating an annotated bibliography. This is something I will work on as I continue doing research for my project.


My current goals for this project include getting a consent form started/IRB review, finding the right structure for my zine and then later finding the appropriate questions to ask my interviewees. I have emailed Melodie Blakemore to answer some questions regarding the IRB review for my interviews and to get some help with my consent form as she is very knowledgable in these topics at UCSB. I also have a scheduled appointment on November 16th with Des Alaniz, a UCSB librarian, that will hopefully help me find the right formatting for my zine in order to tell my interviewees' oral history as best as possible. I'm feeling overwhelmed but excited with all that there is to do and learn for my project and the remainder of this quarter!! :)


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page